IFFM Awards: From Jai Bhim to Gangubai Kathiawadi. See full list of nominees

Several films including Suriya’s Jai Bheem, Ranveer Singh’s 83, Alia Bhatt’s Gangubai Kathiawadi, Vicky Kaushal’s Sardar Udham and Aparna Sen’s The Rapist are among the top nominees at the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM) Awards 2022. The organizers announced the nominations on Tuesday. , The 13th edition will be held in Melbourne from 12 to 20 August both in person and virtually. This year more than 100 films in 23 languages ​​are being screened in this festival. (Also Read | Suriya is the most versatile leading man of Indian cinema today.,

Of all the films, Jai Bhim made the most nominations at four, followed by Gangubai Kathiawadi, Sardar Udham, Jalsa and The Rapist with three nominations each. The Best Film nominees also include Badhaai Do, Minnal Murali and Paaka (River of Blood). According to the organisers, the award ceremony will take place on August 14.

Best Actor (Male): Gopal Hegde (Pedro), Rajkumar Rao (Congratulations), Ramnish Choudhary (Jaggi), Ranveer Singh (83), Suriya (Jai Bheem), Tovino Thomas (Minal Murli), Vicky Kaushal (Sardar Udham) and Abhishek Bachchan (Dasvi)

Best Actor (Female): Alia Bhatt (Gangubai Kathiawadi), Bhumi Pednekar (Congratulations), Deepika Padukone (The Depths), Konkona Sen Sharma (The Rapist), Lijomol Jose (Jai Bheem), Sreelekha Mitra (Once Upon a Time in Calcutta) and Shefali Shah and Vidya Balan (Jalsa).

Best Director: Anmol Sidhu (Jaggi), Aparna Sen (The Rapist), Kabir Khan (83), Paan Nalin, Chhelo Show (last film show), Sanjay Leela Bhansali (Gangubai Kathiawadi), Shoojit Sircar (Sardar Udham), Suresh Triveni (Jalsa), TJ Gyanvel (Jai Bheem)

best movie: 83, Congratulations, Gangubai Kathiawadi, Jai Bhim, Minnal Murali, Pak (River of Blood), Sardar Udham, The Rapist

Best Indie Film: Boomba Ride, Doug Dug, Jaggi, Once Upon A Time In Calcutta, Pedro, Shankar’s Fairy, Shoebox, Fairy Folk

Best Documentary: Knowing Nothing, Aayana (Mirror), Kicking Balls, Only Ladies, aka (AKA)

Best film from the subcontinent: Joyland (Pakistan) Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom (Bhutan), No Land’s Man (Bangladesh), Rehana Mariam Noor (Bangladesh) and The Newspaper (Sri Lanka)

Best Actor in a Series: Mohit Raina (Mumbai Diaries 26/11), Parambrata Chatterjee (Aranyak), Varun Mitra (Guilty Minds), Tahir Raj Bhasin (Yeh Kaali Kali Aankhen), Dhruv Sehgal (Little Things Final Season)

Best Actress in a Series: Konkona Sensharma (Mumbai Diaries 26/11), Sakshi Tanwar (My), Madhuri Dixit (Fame Game), Mithila Palkar (Little Things Final Season), Raveena Tandon (Aranyak), Shriya Pilgaonkar (Guilty Minds)

Best Series: Aranyak, Mumbai Diaries 26/11, Fame Game, My, Little Things Final Season, Yeh Kaali Kaali Aankhen

This year’s festival jury will include film editor Jill Bilcock, actor Vince Colosimo, director Geoffrey Wright and filmmaker Nadia Tass. Cricketer Kapil Dev will be the special guest at the ceremony.


Leave a Comment

close button